Products of the future

At Frutco, we have made it our task to design our production in a sustainable and resource-saving way. We also pay attention to this when choosing our partners, because our goal is not only to make our company more climate-friendly, but also to make the world a better place with our research. Now we have found a way to create very high-quality, independent and sustainable products from the banana side stream products. In the following article, we will therefore look at two of the products: Banana Sweetener (Erythritol) and Banana Fibre.

As consumers become more health-conscious about sugar, the food and beverage industry is on the lookout for new healthy and functional sweetener alternatives. Important aspects here are naturalness and taste. There are now a number of sugar substitutes available, but only erythritol can fulfil all the attributes of sugar, such as taste, natural status and technological properties that promote healthy and desirable sweetness, all without calories.

Banana Sweetener (Erythritol)

Our banana sweetener (erythritol) is a 100% natural, calorie-free sweetener with a clean taste and functionality very similar to sugar. In addition, it has the most desirable digestive tolerance and does not cause tooth corrosion. Erythritol is the perfect sweetener for bakery, chocolate and beverage manufacturers, as well as the pharmaceutical industry. We process the entire banana, i.e. the surpluses and the peels are also put to good use. This new sweetener has no calorific value compared to sucrose, so it can be incorporated into dietary foods, which can help control sugar levels in diabetics. Banana contains a high percentage of carbohydrates, which give excellent results when fermented.

Main benefits

Erythritol occurs naturally in some foods: In fruits as well as in fermented foods such as cheese, cider, wine and beer. It is produced without chemical processes and without GMO ingredients. The process is purely natural with the help of industrious microorganisms and controlled fermentation.

Production is exclusively from our own certified (SGF, Rain Forest Alliance, CSR), sustainably grown and processed fruit side streams. This minimises overall food waste and brings us closer to our goal of 100% sustainability by 2030.

In the EU and Japan, it is approved as a zero-calorie sweetener. In the USA, 0.2 kcal/g applies. Erythritol has a glycaemic index of zero, so it does not increase insulin levels. This brings a great advantage for diabetics and health-conscious consumers who do not have to worry about this sweetener.

Erythritol has a clean, surprisingly fresh and fruity sweet taste, without any bitter or chemical aftertaste. In comparative tests, erythritol is about 70% as sweet as sugar (sucrose).

Erythritol has a high digestive tolerance and is not laxative at typical consumption levels, unlike other polyols. Adults consuming up to 1 g per day and per kg of body weight show no gastrointestinal effects. Another advantage is that erythritol is tooth-friendly and non-cariogenic.

Erythritol has interesting qualitative synergies with stevia, sucralose, aspartame and acesulfame-K. It can be used alone, i.e. without mixing with other sweeteners. The sweetener improves mouthfeel, adds body, masks off-flavours and provides a higher sweetness than the sum of the individual components. Erythritol (syrup, crystal or powder) can act as a flavour enhancer, carrier, stabiliser, thickener, bulking agent and complexing agent.

Der Kompositionsprozess

Our banana sweetener (erythritol), is unique because it is the world’s first sweetener made from banana side streams through a fermentation process. In this process, the banana serves as the starting material and is fermented with yeast to produce the calorie-free sweetener.

This composition process allows us to make our production more sustainable by processing the side streams into a standalone product, greatly reducing food waste.

Physical and chemical properties

• shows a cooling effect during dissolution due to its strong negative heat of solution
• is heat stable up to 180
• does not show Mailllard browning reactions
• causes a lowering of the freezing point of frozen foods
• is stable in a pH range between 2 and 10
• has a very low hygroscopicity

Sweetener application

Frutco Erythritol is suitable for a wide range of applications, contributing to the ever-increasing demand to reduce the sugar content in foods and beverages such as soft drinks, dairy products and baked goods without losing the desired sugary taste. Erythritol’s cool mouthfeel and non-cariogenic properties make it ideal for dental products as well as pharmaceutical applications.

• Confectionery (sweets and chewing gum)
• Food (yoghurt, chocolates, bakery, …)
• Beverages
• Household goods
• Pharmaceuticals and care products

Frutco Banana Fibres

Banana fibre is a natural, gluten-free, multifunctional dietary fibre that adds moisture retention, texture and body to various foods. It has excellent swelling, water binding and holding capacity in foods and is ideal for nutritional and clean label applications. Frutco’s banana fibre is produced from the side stream of banana puree production. With this process, Frutco further reduces food waste and improves product sustainability while protecting the environment.

Fibre application

What is dietary fibre good for?
Dietary fibres are edible plant parts that resist digestion and absorption in the human small intestine and are fully or partially fermented in the large intestine. Dietary fibres include polysaccharides, oligosaccharides, lignin and related plant substances. In this context, functional dietary fibres consist of isolated, non-digestible carbohydrates that have beneficial effects for humans.

Banana fibres can be used in many areas. The following uses can be:

• Pasta fillings
• Bakery products
• Ice cream, sorbets
• Fruit preparations
• Beverages
• Dairy products
• Meat products
• Sauces, dressings
• Nutraceuticals
• Pet food

Produkte der Zukunft

Wir bei Frutco haben es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht unsere Produktion nachhaltig und ressourcenschonend zu gestalten. Darauf achten wir auch bei der Wahl unserer Partner, denn unser Ziel ist es nicht nur unser Unternehmen klimafreundlicher zu gestalten, sondern mit unseren Forschungen die Welt Stück für Stück besser zu machen. Nun haben wir einen Weg gefunden aus den Bananen-Nebenströmen sehr hochwertige, eigenständige und nachhaltige Produkte zu kreieren. Im folgenden Artikel gehen wir daher auf zwei der Produkte ein: Bananen Süßstoff (Erythrit) und Bananen Fasern.

Da die Verbraucher immer gesundheitsbewusster mit Zucker umgehen, ist die Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie auf der Suche nach neuen gesunden und funktionalen Süßungsalternativen. Wichtige Aspekte dabei sind Natürlichkeit und Geschmack. Es gibt mittlerweile eine Reihe von Zuckeraustauschstoffen, aber nur Erythrit kann alle Attribute von Zucker erfüllen, wie z. B. Geschmack, natürlicher Status und technologische Eigenschaften, die eine gesunde und wünschenswerte Süße fördern und das alles ohne Kalorien.

Bananen Süßstoff (Erythrit)

Unser Bananen Süßstoff (Erythrit) ist ein 100% natürlicher, kalorienfreier Süßstoff mit einem sauberen Geschmack und einer Funktionalität, die der von Zucker sehr ähnlich ist. Darüber hinaus hat es die wünschenswerteste Verdauungsverträglichkeit und verursacht keine Zahnkorrosion. Erythrit ist der perfekte Süßstoff für sowohl Backwaren-, Schokoladen- und Getränkehersteller, als auch für die Pharmaindustrie. Wir verarbeiten die komplette Banane, das heißt die Überschüsse und die Schalen finden bei uns auch ihre sinnvolle Verwendung. Dieser neue Süßstoff hat im Vergleich zu Saccharose keinen Brennwert, so dass er in diätetische Lebensmittel eingearbeitet werden kann, was bei der Kontrolle des Zuckerspiegels bei Diabetikern helfen kann. Banane enthält einen hohen Prozentsatz an Kohlenhydraten, die bei der Fermentation hervorragende Ergebnisse liefern. 

Hauptvorteile

Erythrit kommt natürlich in einigen Lebensmitteln vor: In Früchten sowie in fermentierten Lebensmitteln wie Käse, Apfelwein, Wein und Bier. Es wird ohne chemische Prozesse und ohne GVO-Zutaten hergestellt. Der Prozess ist rein natürlich mit Hilfe von fleißigen Mikroorganismen und kontrollierter Fermentation.

Die Produktion erfolgt ausschließlich aus eigenen, zertifizierten (SGF, Rain Forest Alliance, CSR), nachhaltig angebauten und verarbeiteten Frucht-Seitenströmen. Dies minimiert die gesamte Lebensmittelverschwendung und bringt uns unserem Ziel von 100 % Nachhaltigkeit bis 2030 näher.

In der EU und in Japan ist es als Null-Kalorien-Süßstoff zugelassen. In den USA gelten 0,2 kcal/g. Erythrit hat einen glykämischen Index von Null, erhöht also nicht den Insulinspiegel. Das bringt einen großen Vorteil für Diabetiker und gesundheitsbewusste Verbraucher, die sich über diesen Süßstoff keine Gedanken machen müssen.

Erythrit hat einen sauberen, überraschend frischen und fruchtigen, süßen Geschmack, ohne jeglichen bitteren oder chemischen Nachgeschmack. In Vergleichstests ist Erythrit etwa bis zu 70% so süß wie Zucker (Saccharose).

Erythrit hat eine hohe Verdauungstoleranz und ist bei typischen Verzehrsmengen im Gegensatz zu anderen Polyolen nicht laxierend. Erwachsene, die bis zu 1 g pro Tag und pro kg Körpergewicht konsumieren, zeigen keine gastrointestinalen Effekte. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass Erythrit zahnfreundlich und nicht kariogen ist.

Erythrit weist interessante qualitative Synergien mit Stevia, Sucralose, Aspartam und Acesulfam-K auf. Es kann allein, d. h. ohne Vermischung mit anderen Süßungsmitteln, verwendet werden. Der Süßstoff verbessert das Mundgefühl, verleiht Körper, überdeckt Fehlgeschmäcker und liefert eine höhere Süße als die Summe der einzelnen Komponenten. Erythrit (Sirup, Kristall oder Pulver) kann als Geschmacksverstärker, Träger, Stabilisator, Verdickungsmittel, Füllstoff und Komplexbildner wirken.

Der Kompositionsprozess

Unser Bananen Süßstoff (Erythrit), ist einzigartig, weil es der weltweit erste Süßstoff ist, der durch einen Fermentationsprozess aus Bananenseitenströmen hergestellt wird. Bei diesem Prozess dient die Banane als Ausgangsmaterial und wird mit Hefe fermentiert, um den kalorienfreien Süßstoff herzustellen.

Dieser Kompositionsprozess ermöglicht es uns, unsere Produktion nachhaltiger zu gestalten, indem wir die Nebenströme zu einem eigenständigen Produkt verarbeiten und so die Lebensmittelverschwendung stark reduzieren.

Physikalische und chemische Eigenschaften

Süßstoff Anwendung

Frutco Erythrit eignet sich für eine breite Palette von Anwendungen und trägt damit zu der immer größer werdenden Nachfrage bei, den Zuckergehalt in Lebensmitteln und Getränken wie Softdrinks, Milchprodukten und Backwaren zu reduzieren, ohne den gewünschten zuckerhaltigen Geschmack zu verlieren. Aufgrund seines kühlen Mundgefühls und seiner nicht kariogenen Eigenschaften ist Erythrit ideal für Dentalprodukte sowie für pharmazeutische Anwendungen.

Frutco Bananen Fasern

Bananen Faser ist ein natürlicher, glutenfreier, multifunktionaler Ballaststoff, der verschiedenen Lebensmitteln Feuchtigkeitsbindung, Textur und Körper verleiht. Er hat ein ausgezeichnetes Quell-, Wasserbindungs- und Haltevermögen in Lebensmitteln und ist ideal für Nährwert- und Clean-Label-Anwendungen. Die Bananen Fasern von Frutco werden aus dem Nebenstrom der Bananenpüreeproduktion hergestellt. Mit diesem Verfahren reduziert Frutco die Lebensmittelabfälle weiter und verbessert die Produktnachhaltigkeit bei gleichzeitiger Schonung der Umwelt.

Faser Anwendung

Wozu sind Ballaststoffe gut?
Ballaststoffe sind essbare Pflanzenteile, die der Verdauung und Absorption im menschlichen Dünndarm widerstehen und im Dickdarm ganz oder teilweise fermentiert werden. Zu den Ballaststoffen gehören Polysaccharide, Oligosaccharide, Lignin und verwandte Pflanzenstoffe. Funktionelle Ballaststoffe bestehen in diesem Zusammenhang aus isolierten, nicht verdaulichen Kohlenhydraten, die für den Menschen vorteilhafte Wirkungen haben.

Bananen Fasern können in vielen Bereichen verwendet werden. Folgende Einsatzmöglichkeiten können sein: